Shop now

12 Zodiac Sign Symbols & Their Meanings

There are 12 zodiac signs, each with their own symbol. And each symbol has its own unique meaning. We will explore the meanings behind each of these symbols. We will also discuss the different personality traits associated with each sign. If you want to learn more about your zodiac sign symbol and what it means, then this is the blog post for you.

Zodiac Symbol Meanings

There are 12 zodiac signs, each with their own symbol. And each symbol has its own unique meaning. We will explore the meanings behind each of these symbols. We will also discuss the different personality traits associated with each sign. If you want to learn more about your zodiac sign symbol and what it means, then this is the blog post for you.

The zodiac is a group of 12 constellations that the sun passes through each year. You have Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

Each constellation is associated with a different time of year, and each one has its own unique set of characteristics. For example, people who are born under the sign of Aries are energetic and impulsive. Whereas people who are born under the sign of Taurus are reliable and hardworking.

The symbol for each zodiac sign also represents the personality traits of that particular sign. Are you a Scorpio? Your symbol is the scorpion, which represents passion and power. Or are you a Gemini? Then, your symbol is the twins, which represents duality and adaptability.

Whether you’re a zodiac rookie or an expert on all things star signs, these zodiac sign meanings will give you an idea of how each symbol embodies the unique traits of each sign.

12 zodiac sign symbols


Aries is represented by the Ram. Aries are known for their courage, boldness, spontaneity and initiative. The zodiac symbol is used to represent the tough nature of the battling ram which uses its brute strength and persistence to overcome its opponent. The Ram embodies Aries’ tough, unstoppable force and their ability to always rise to a challenge.


Taurus is represented by the Bull, which symbolizes their bull-headed nature. Just like the bull, Taureans are tenacious, strong-willed, and they know what they want. A bull is stubborn and strong, and so is a Taurus. When left to their own devices, Taureans are happy and calm, but once they loose their temper there will be hell to pay – just like a bull.


The zodiac symbol for Gemini is the Twins. The twins symbolize a Gemini’s dual-natured personality. This has two meanings, which is fitting for twins. One represents two personalities that are very different from each other, which is where the stereotype of Geminis being two-faced comes from. Their contradictory nature only adds to their mysterious allure. The symbol of the twins also depict a Gemini’s ability to see both sides of a situation. This makes them very adaptable individuals.


The symbol of the Cancer zodiac sign is the Crab. With a hard, protective outside shell with a soft, vulnerable inner, the crab is a perfect embodiment of people born under this zodiac sign. Crabs, just like Cancers can be highly sensitive to their environments and a Cancer’s ability to be in tune with the feelings of others is unmatched. Intuitive and self-protective, Cancers and Crabs are extremely alike.


Leo is represented by the Lion. The Lion is a symbol of strength, power, and royalty. Lions are the king of the jungle and the leader of the pack, so it’s only fitting that people born under this zodiac sign are natural leaders. Leos are passionate people who embrace their royal status and enjoy being the center of attention. The Lion embodies Leo’s self-belief and confidence. Just fetch them their crown!


The Maiden is the zodiac symbol for Virgo. The maiden symbolizes Virgo’s need to help and serve. She is often depicted to be carrying wheat which represents her deep-rooted earthly nature. Virgos are known for their grounded, reliable character (a true earth sign!) and are always keen to assist others. ‘Virgo’ is Latin for ‘virgin’ which is in line with a Virgo’s honorable nature and their emphasis on integrity and purity. If there’s one thing a Virgo hates, it’s fakeness.


Libra is represented by the Scales. The Scales are a symbol of balance and justice, which is what Libras value above all else. The Scales represent the need for Libras to find balance in their lives. Thoughtful, considerate, and fair, Libras are always weighing up their options and making sure they are making the best possible choice. This can also make Libras seem indecisive, but it is just because they want to be sure they are doing the right thing.


Scorpio is symbolized by the Scorpion. It takes very little explanation to describe the meaning behind this zodiac symbol. The Scorpion represents intensity, passion, and power, all personality traits that are attributed to people born with the Scorpio zodiac sign. Scorpions have an air of mystery and danger about them, which is why Scorpios are often considered to be the most dangerous sign in the zodiac. The Scorpion is also a symbol of death and rebirth, which is another Scorpio trait. This zodiac sign is known for its ability to rise from the ashes and be reborn stronger than before. So, if you’re looking for a powerful and intense zodiac sign, look no further than


Sagittarius is represented by the Archer. With an arrow always pointed high, the Archer is a symbol of ambition, high goals, and a thirst for knowledge. That’s why Sagittarians are high achievers. The Archer is also a symbol of an eternally optimistic outlook, even in the face of adversity. People born under the Sagittarius zodiac sign are also known for their positive outlook on life, their love of adventure, and their desire to learn new things.


The Sea-Goat is the zodiac symbol for Capricorn. The Sea-Goat is a mythological creature that is half goat and half fish. This complex creature represents the multifaceted ability of Capricorns: their practical abilities and their intellectual strength. The goat embodies their ability to tackle almost anything that life throws in their way and the fish represents their adaptability and resourcefulness. Capricorns have a unique ability to thrive in inhospitable environments.


Aquarius is symbolized by the Water Bearer. The Water Bearer represents knowledge, progress, and change. The flowing water is a symbol of Aquarians energy and the constant flow of new ideas and information that Aquarians thrive on. This zodiac sign is known for its progressive and innovative ideas. People born under the Aquarius sign are often ahead of their time and are always pushing boundaries. They have a ‘go-with-the-flow’ approach to life and they carry their knowledge with them to give to others, much like the Water Bearer symbolically and eternally giving water for others to live and grow.


The Pisces zodiac symbol is two Fish. The Fish are swimming in opposite directions representing the division of Pisces mentally switching between reality and fantasy and their contradiction of being pulled in different directions. Pisces are known for their love of daydreaming, and their imagination knows no bounds. Pisceans are also highly intuitive and can be very compassionate. The fish are connected which also symbolizes the Pisces ability to be in tune with others and their deep understanding of the human condition.

I hope you enjoyed discovering more about each of the 12 signs and the meaning of each symbol. Each of the star signs is unique in its own sense, and these symbols embody those personal traits (the good and the bad).

Interested to learn more about Zodiacs? Check out The Zodiac Signs as Elements

Let’s keep in touch